top of page

Walkerton CBC - Kestrels, Ross's Geese, and more!

On New Years day, I went to King William county with my bird club, where we did a Christmas Bird Count. You may recall last years January 4th Walkerton CBC, where I saw my first American Kestrels. Well, in many ways, this year's was even better. Highlights were Ross's Goose and Common Goldeneye.

January first sunrise

Great Blue Heron - My first bird for the day.

Bald Eagle - He was in a tree really close to us!

Same eagle as above - He caught prey, looks like a fish to me.

Greater Yellowlegs

Northern Pintail

We heard that there were Ross's Geese in King and Queen county, only a few minutes away! When we arrived at the location that they had been seen in, I scanned with the spotting scope and found them!

The three Ross's Geese. They have only been seen three times in King and Queen county.

Ring-necked Ducks

Two Common Goldeneyes that were mixed in with the ducks.

Injured Red-winged Blackbird, left behind by its flock.

There may be a Cackling Goose in this photo, mixed in with the Canada Geese. Unfortunately, Cackling Geese are hard to distinguish from Canada Geese, so I can't find it.

At one of the places we birded, the owner keeps peafowls and guineafowl! You may remember the pictures from last year. We didn't see any guineafowl, but we did see peafowl. I found a beautiful peacock tail feather too!

American Kestrel - Probably my best shot of one yet.

Another American Kestrel.

We didn't see any other notable birds, but this was one of the coolest bird counts I've been on yet!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page