top of page

Northern Shrike! And bird banding

One November 5th, I went with my birding club to go bird banding and see a Northern Shrike. I got to measure birds at bird banding!

Red-tailed Hawk (quite far away)

Yellow-shafted Flicker (male because of mustache near eye)

Eastern Bluebird with snack

Carolina Chickadee

Northern Cardinal. I was responsible for keeping the stick in its mouth so it didn't bite the person.

Hermit Thrush

Palm Warbler in net

Downy Woodpecker

Northern Cardinal (its been banded before, you can see it.) I also kept the stick in its mouth so it didn't bite people.

Song Sparrow (I did some of the measurements on it, but it escaped from my hand!)

Hermit Thrush (after I skulled it) you can see where I put the water to examine its skull

Downy Woodpecker

Probable mate of the previous woodpecker

Palm Warbler

Carolina Wren (it escaped before we could band it)

I also took a Tufted Titmouse from a trap and took measurements on it, and spotted a Pileated Woodpecker.

After banding, we went to Sully Woodlands and saw the Northern Shrike! They are very rare in Virginia.

Northern Shrike in tree

Another shot of the shrike

The shrike again

The closest I got to the shrike was about ten feet away!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page